Here at my mother-in-laws, the tradition is to put the Christmas tree up on thanksgiving, or the day following. Back home it was more of a "whenever the living room was clean enough too put the tree up" so normally it wasn't up tell about two weeks maybe three weeks before Christmas it didn't get taken down tell after new years. Another difference between my mother-in-laws house and my parents house is that the tree here gets turned off, back home that thing was on from the day it was put up tell the day it was taken down. We were all much to lazy to go over an unplug the tree every night just to plug it in the next morning, we also never had a real tree. One year we had plugged the tree into the socket that had a switch to turn it on and off, that year the tree did get turned off. But only that year. Here the tree has an extension cord that has a little button on it that you step on. This turns the lights on and off. My mother-in-law is worried about the house catching on fire from it, but when you consider that the house in over a hundred years old, and that if you use have the Tree, PS3, bathroom heater, and microwave on at the same time a fuse get's blown; it probably really would catch fire.
Also there isn't a lot of family time. I think that in the seven or eight months that I've lived here there has never been a time where everyone was just sitting in the living room watching TV. Back home we would watch tv a lot (but that's normal) but we also had a lot of family sit down dinners where we were all sitting at the table eating or at least everyone was sitting in the living room eating together. Here we don't have a dining room table, at least not that is put up anywhere.
On a more baby front my mother-in-law has expressed that she wants to be called "mom mom". I'm trying to figure out a nice way to tell her "no way in hell". It is a million times to close to mom for me and guess what, I'm mom. She also hates the names that we've come up with for the baby she likes the middle name for the girl name and will call her that. I'm pretty okay with her using the middle name, I plan on using the first and middle together most of the time and Hubby is only going to use the first name so it's not a big deal for her to use the middle instead of the first. When it comes to the boy name however she apparently doesn't like the middle name either so she said she is going to call the baby if it's a boy "CK". C is the first letter in the first name we have picked out and K is what our last name starts with.
Lets start off by saying that I'm not a big fan of nicknames. I know that it's a little hypocritical but I do actually plan on legally changing my name to Cathrin, at some point when I have you know, money. Now as far as nicknames go for my kids, I don't really have an issue if over time the kids name got shortened to something after hanging out with friends and such. That is kind of what happened with Feodora getting shortened to Feo but that has more to do with it's just super cute and it's way faster to type, as you know Feo can't actually have friends. But when it comes to CK instead of his actual name I'm not okay with it. It's not something that naturally happened over time it's something this grandmother is planning before the kid is even board because she decided that she doesn't have to use the name I like. Would she do that for a grown adult? I seriously doubt it. That would be like saying "I realize that you're name that your name is Cameron but I don't like that name so I'm going to call you CJ because it's you're initials and I like that better." That would go over so well right?
Now CK is more of something I would use online on my blog, except I would probably use CDK because CK is my, and my Hubby's initials too. I don't really ever plan on using any living children's real names on here for their protection.
If I didn't live with my mother-in-law than I wouldn't have an issue with just telling her "Hey NO to mom mom and NO to CK"; but I am and I don't want to step on her toes, as after all we're living here for free...
~Cathrin
No comments:
Post a Comment