Sunday, December 16, 2012

Reflection on Friday's events.

My husband and I don't really watch a lot of TV. I pretty much watch it while I'm eating and don't the rest of the day. I've always been much more of a reader then a TV person. So naturally I don't anything about the elementary school shooting tell Saturday when I get on babycenter to check up with a few friends.

I "hear" them talking about it and then I naturally sent my phone's browser over to Google and searched for it. In all honesty; I wish I had just kept myself in the dark. I didn't watch any of the videos that were available on the various news websites I just read the article. Naturally like everyone who heard about it my heart broke. I know the pain of losing a child and I think that makes it hurt even more. I can't fathom how anyone could do anything like that, to anyone anywhere. The fact that it happened to elementary school children, children who were just learning to read and write, who had so much life ahead of them. That makes it even more unfathomable.

I naturally am terrified of the thought of sending this baby or any we have in the future to school. I also can't stop myself from thinking that if this could happen in an elementary school then what is to stop it from happening at a preschool? Or even a daycare? This whole thing seemed to happen because that guy was mad at his mom, maybe specifically because of her job. What would have happened if she had taught preschool or daycare instead of elementary school? Probably an even more heart wrenching tragedy then the one that did take place.

When I was in eighth grade (I believe it was then at least) the Virginia tech shooting took place. My English teacher my first semester in college had been there when it had happened. She told us all about the day that it had happened and what she had been doing when it happened. She had just left her dorm for the day and was headed for class. She heard shots and got a call from her boyfriend (or she called him I don't remember exactly) and he told her to go back to her dorm and lock the door. She had friends who died that day, that day actually made her realize that she wanted to marry her boyfriend, and she did. She told us how it changed her and them. I remember that last year there was another shooting there, but I don't remember hearing that anyone got hurt that time.

That same year my older brother had been sent home from school because of a boom threat at his high school. I don't remember if the boom had been real or not. I do know that there had been threats at the school before where the boom had been real. I had friends who had gone there at the time and they told me about it.

When I got into high school there weren't any boom threats but we had drills for one all the time. While I was there my sophomore year someone brought a gun to school, apparently a friend had told on the hid who brought it and the principal and resource officer got it out of the kids locker. It was a real gun, but it wasn't operable. We had been told to switch to our fourth period classes early and then were put on lock down, they came over the PA speaker and told us about it after they got the gun out. We had very little class time left when they announced it, we didn't get sent home and that bother me a little. The next day a letter was sent home with us. Not that by that time all of our parents didn't know about.  I'm pretty sure that kid was arrested.

My senior year another gun was brought to school, this time the gun was a bebe gun. I believe that a girl brought it. I remember watching the officer and the principals run from the main office area to the 300 hall, (which is where the science classes were) though the window in the cafeteria while I ate lunch. This time a note was sent home that day. According to the note the gun was operable but there was no ammo. I believe she was arrested, I remember my friends talking about how it was kind of stupid to bring the gun without ammo. She had said that if she was going to do something like that, which would certainly get her arrested then she was going to go ahead and bring the stupid ammo. She never would have done anything like that but she had a point, you're going to get arrested anyway, why not go the whole nine yards?

I also grew up in a pretty nice area, there were problem kids just like anywhere, but I didn't feel like I was in danger if I were to walk home from school at midnight or later.

Anyway this whole thing with these twenty, six and seven year old kids being killed at school just makes me want to home school my kids even more. I've always wanted too, I was teased a lot in middle school because I was smart and tall, and I don't want that for my kids. My hubby says how we can't afford homeschooling, well maybe five years from now we can. And if we can't I did see something on tv a while back about public school online. Maybe that would be a good idea, I can always put my kids in sports and scouts so that they can make friends. I did after all really like scouts.

Anyway I think that's about it.
~Cathrin.

No comments:

Post a Comment