I have officially gained some weight in the past four weeks. Four pounds. But since I originally lost weight I've gained like one pound. But my doctor is happy with it. Granted she has me starting my pregnancy at three pounds lighter because the last time they had weighed me was back in June. The specialist weighed me in September and had me at having gain three pounds since June, granted it could have just been the scale, or maybe even the clothes I was wearing at the time, most likely I was wearing my flip flops in June and then maybe my brown sandals in September. Honestly I just don't remember. But I'm just glad to be gaining weight. I really didn't want to get a lecture about needing to eat more. These past few weeks I've been pretty hungry so that is helpful.
We talked with the doctor about my birth plan, and I told her that I want to have a natural delivery and that I don't want a nurse asking me if I want pain meds. I will ask for meds if I want them, I'm not freakishly against having a medicated birth I would just rather have an unmediated one. I really wanted a water birth, even though it does kind of scare me because of Serenity, but the hospital I'm going to deliver at doesn't do water births. Honestly I'll feel more comfortable with giving that a try after this baby gets here safe and sound. Then I'll find a hospital that does water births (that is hopefully closer them mercy) and switch to him/her. The real thing was that I didn't want to switch from a doctor that I like for a chance at a water birth that I might not be able to do anyway.
We also talked about how many people can be in the room with me. While I'm in labor they allow up to four people, the actual pushing two. This is more then fine with me, the only one I wanted while pushing was my hubby anyway. As for labor, that will just depend on how I feel, I think I'm going to want to be pretty much naked so probably just my hubby then too. I'd probably only really want my mom to be there other then my hubby anyway.
The other thing my doctor asked is if we have a boy if we wanted to circumcise. The answer to that is no. We wont be circumcising a boy. I did research and found it's not medically necessary and at that point I was pretty much set on not getting done. I don't feel comfortable doing a permanent non-necessary procedure on someone else's body, let alone a new born. He can always choose to get it done later if he wants, and then he'll be informed and consenting. My husband agrees so that's our plan.
On another note, our anatomy scan is tomorrow morning at 11. I'm rather excited. I'm also completely terrified. I'm glad that I can feel this little one kicking away, it gives me some comfort that at least I won't be told "there's no heartbeat." I've heard those words before, I never want to hear them again. I'm just scared that the baby will have something that he/she can survive in the womb with but not outside of the womb. I'm just trying to focus on the things that I know are going to happen. I'm going to get see this baby again, for probably the last time before this baby is born, and so long as the baby is positioned right we'll find out for sure what sex the baby is. The possibility that something could be wrong... that is something I just keep pushing out of my mind.
Oh and since we have the anatomy scan tomorrow I'll tell you what we were told at the NT scan. 70% chance of a girl. I still think boy though, and I've read that mothers intuition is 70% accurate so we'll see who's 70% is right.
~Cathrin
No comments:
Post a Comment