Monday, May 6, 2013

Come Payday

We're getting cell phones. We're NOT getting a contract, hubby's job is only temporary so we defiantly don't want something with a contract that we might not be able to pay a few months down the rode. I never want to have that kind of a bill again, ever. We're going to get boost, which had unlimited everything for 55 a month, granted it's for each phone but it's still less then what we were paying with sprint. And if we pay on time or early for six months our bill goes down to 50 each, and can go as low as 40. And those six months don't have to be consecutive which is an added plus.

We like the idea of a prepaid like this, that way when something unexpected comes up we can just wait to pay for our phones tell we have enough again. We would lose service but the bill wouldn't be racking up like on a contract plan.

Originally my hubby was saying to get the plan that is 45 buck. The issue with that? It only covers talk and text, I hate those plans. Why? Because just flipping through your phone not even actually going to the web you get charges for web usage. I know because my first cell like that DID that, and my mother had the company completely cut off my ability to reach the internet. They even let the bill with the charges for that dumb crap go, so we didn't have to pay that. The price for the non-android unlimited everything plan is 50 bucks, so it's only 5 bucks more to insure we don't incur fees that are more then 5 bucks.

I spent most of last night looking at phones. I looked at the non-android/blackberry phones and tried to figure out which I liked best and which had the best price. Honestly I didn't like any of them, but I knew that the extra ten bucks (five each) that it costs to get an android phone was ten bucks we could use for other things. So I'm looking at newegg, because I've gotten phones from them before and I know that they are trust worthy and have better prices then getting a phone directly from boost. I click a price range of no more then 100 bucks that way I could stop seeing the galaxy S II and that HTC phone that you can actually write on. Both were phones I would LOVE to have but way out of budget, and hubby was pretty adamant about NOT wanting either of us to get androids. I click on one phone and am reading the description, it's an android but it's a pretty cheep android not much more then the non-android phones I was looking at, and then a word catches my eye, "Waterproof".

My jaw almost hits the floor. Now I've read about a company that has found a way to make phones waterproof and this has to be done before the phone is assembled OR it has to be some specific phone that will allow the waterproofing to get where it needs to go and in the nooks and cranes that the water will find. I had always assumed that it would be a LONG while before any waterproof phone was even a semi reasonable price. I was assuming that a waterproof phone would be up there in the brand new iphone price range. I'm not one to spend that kind of money on a phone that WILL be obsolete in less than two years. And I hate everything Mac, (I've had LOTS of bad experiences for their products) and Mac's are freakishly over priced. I can buy a WAY better computer for a lot less then I could ever buy a decent Mac for. Mac's are good for artists, and my artists I mean people who do ART or possibly a graphic designer though I'm not sure a Mac would have the necessary ram to do that without spending thousands of dollars. If you're a musician  just get a windows computer. You'll be much happier and your wallet will thank you.

Anyway, back to this phone. After my initial shock of a phone being advertised as waterproof, I wanted to know if it REALLY was waterproof. Was it more like one of those watches that you don't have to worry about splashes or the ones I could swim to the bottom of the 10 foot pool and sit there tell I run out of air? So at this point I went to amazon and read the reviews, and I searched for exactly what the funny numbers used in the description of the water proofing meant. One of the reviews on Amazon was from a guy talking about taking under water videos, that instantly gave me a LOT of hope for this phone. I wanted to make sure that if my phone ended up dropped in the bathtub (I've done that, and the rice trick really will save your phone if you turn it off immediately) or the toilet, or even a puddle, that it would still work. And with out having to run home real quick and put it in rice for 24 or more hours. I did find what the funny numbers meant too, the phone can be completely imerced in water for up to 30 minutes, and up to one meter of water. That means I can basically go swimming with it in my pocket so long as I don't swim to the bottom of the sections more then three feet(ish) down. And if someone points a water pistol directly at my phone, that's covered too.

After finding this info I decided that this WAS the phone I was going to get. The reason? Boost offers insurance for your phone at an additional 5 bucks a month. The cost of getting an Android phone is an extra five bucks a month. Reading about the waterproofing made me realize just how easily my phone could end up at the bottom of the tub or toilet with a baby around. I could just see her holding my phone as I grabbed a plate in the kitchen and her dropping it in the sink that is filled with water. Getting a waterproof phone would basically negate the need for the insurance. The reviews I had read said the phone was sturdy and took drops without issue even without a case. So I figure, get a waterproof phone, and a three buck case and the need for insurance? Gone. Cost savings from not needing insurance would allow me to get an android phone. This was what I was going to pitch to my hubby in the morning. He liked the idea and agreed.

He actually agreed to the point of deciding to get the same phone. He said we should get it in different colors so that we didn't get them confused but the phone defiantly only comes in one. I said we would just get different color case's that way we would know who's was who's and they were protected from a baby throwing it to the hardwood floor or worse, concrete/tar. My case will be white and neon green, hubby was not surprised by this choice, he probably would have picked that for me if he had been looking. I picked a different case for him, it is red and black (his favorite colors) and has a holster. The holster holds the phone screen side IN, which is exactly what he needs since he stocks all night and I could just see the screen breaking from hitting something he was putting on shelves. Both cases are the kind that have the plastic under part and the rubber outer part, great for shock absorption, and the case isn't going to pop off when dropped.

So right now I'm REALLY excited for payday. The phone is the Kyocera Hydro, though I believe that it is only available with boost, and is just under eighty bucks through Newegg. Since my step-father-in-law assured us we don't need tires yet, (he's a mechanic) we can afford to get phones this paycheck which is good because it will most likely be this paycheck that I go into labor, and not having to call my hubby on his mom's phone would be amazing. (And I wouldn't have to write a list of numbers for hubby to call, I can just put them all in his phone.)

I think that's about it. Next appointment is on Wednesday  I'm excited to see if anything has changed, part of me hopes so and part of me doesn't we have a lot of cleaning to do before RR gets here still. 

~Cathrin

No comments:

Post a Comment