I was thinking about something this morning that happened at the end of march. My hubby and I had agreed to take his grandmother to her doctor appointment and then to her sisters. Her appointment was at 8:45 in the morning on a Friday, So we had nothing to do while we were waiting on here. The only thing open was a Starbucks, neither my hubby or I drink coffee, I've heard they also have tea but there is no way I could justify spending that amount of money on tea that I probably wont like anyway so we sat in the car for a while.
When we felt she would be out of her appointment we headed back over to the office and my hubby went in to get her. I was driving, I actually have to drive when his grandmother is in the car because we have the car seat in the car, and his 300+ pound grandmother doesn't fit behind me when I'm in the passenger seat. When they finally come out and we are headed out of the parking lot she goes "So when are you guys going to try for a boy?" I was shocked, I was defiantly not expecting anyone to be asking about our next kid BEFORE RR even got here. I was so shocked that I apparently looked like I didn't want any kids after RR. She made a not so nice comment to my hubby about it.
Her question honestly rubbed me the wrong way. I know it's an innocent question, really but the way she said it inferred that when we do have another kid we'll be wanting the baby to be a boy. It honestly sounded like she was saying there was no point in having kids after you have a boy and a girl, the family is "perfect" at that point. I was honestly angry that when we start trying for kid number two we wont be just trying for a baby we'd be trying for a boy specifically. Neither my hubby and I care if we ever have a boy or not. If we reach the amount of kids we've been dreaming of and they are all girls, then we'll be just as happy as if we had an even split of boys and girls.
My family knows me better than that. They know I want more then two kids, even if we did end up with our second being a boy and therefore having a "perfect" family. Apparently my hubby's family missed that memo, though I was pretty sure that he had mentioned that we want a big family. Right now, while kid number two is in the plan we have no idea where in the plan that baby falls. Right now we're focusing on getting stable and a place for the kid we already have, then we'll more then idly talk about our next kid.
Hubby has a job now so things are starting to look up some. He'll need a better job before kid number two is thought about though. Hopefully that will happen relatively soon, now that he has a job he can stop applying anywhere for any job and start applying for a job that he will enjoy doing. And hopefully that job will enable us to have the family we want.
~Cathrin
No comments:
Post a Comment