Tuesday, April 30, 2013

Trying for a boy?

I was thinking about something this morning that happened at the end of march. My hubby and I had agreed to take his grandmother to her doctor appointment and then to her sisters. Her appointment was at 8:45 in the morning on a Friday, So we had nothing to do while we were waiting on here. The only thing open was a Starbucks, neither my hubby or I drink coffee, I've heard they also have tea but there is no way I could justify spending that amount of money on tea that I probably wont like anyway so we sat in the car for a while.

When we felt she would be out of her appointment we headed back over to the office and my hubby went in to get her. I was driving, I actually have to drive when his grandmother is in the car because we have the car seat in the car, and his 300+ pound grandmother doesn't fit behind me when I'm in the passenger seat. When they finally come out and we are headed out of the parking lot she goes "So when are you guys going to try for a boy?" I was shocked, I was defiantly not expecting anyone to be asking about our next kid BEFORE RR even got here. I was so shocked that I apparently looked like I didn't want any kids after RR. She made a not so nice comment to my hubby about it.

Her question honestly rubbed me the wrong way. I know it's an innocent question, really but the way she said it inferred that when we do have another kid we'll be wanting the baby to be a boy. It honestly sounded like she was saying there was no point in having kids after you have a boy and a girl, the family is "perfect" at that point. I was honestly angry that when we start trying for kid number two we wont be just trying for a baby we'd be trying for a boy specifically. Neither my hubby and I care if we ever have a boy or not. If we reach the amount of kids we've been dreaming of and they are all girls, then we'll be just as happy as if we had an even split of boys and girls.

My family knows me better than that. They know I want more then two kids, even if we did end up with our second being a boy and therefore having a "perfect" family. Apparently my hubby's family missed that memo,  though I was pretty sure that he had mentioned that we want a big family. Right now, while kid number two is in the plan we have no idea where in the plan that baby falls. Right now we're focusing on getting stable and a place for the kid we already have, then we'll more then idly talk about our next kid.

Hubby has a job now so things are starting to look up some. He'll need a better job before kid number two is thought about though. Hopefully that will happen relatively soon, now that he has a job he can stop applying anywhere for any job and start applying for a job that he will enjoy doing. And hopefully that job will enable us to have the family we want.

~Cathrin

Friday, April 26, 2013

Cleaning...

I hate laundry, and cleaning, and organizing  I'm a messy person. Back when I was in school when I did homework, and doing homework was a rare thing for me; I would take everything in my book bag and spread it out across the table. I like clutter, I think better surrounded by a ton of stuff. I'm not someone you'll find organizing things, well except for files on my computer. The only time I ever kept my own room clean was when I had a dog that would eat my things. I was in elementary school and he ate most of my barbies before I started making sure my things were put up at night. The dog also ate my glasses several times, because they would fall off the bed side table or something to that effect.

Any way, with RR coming (and coming pretty soon) I don't have the "luxury" of being messy anymore. I know that my messy habits are not an okay environment for a baby or child to live in. Which is how I ended up at nine months pregnant (I'm 36 weeks tomorrow) and cleaning, a lot. This week I've been doing laundry everyday, I've been picking up the soda cans that my hubby likes to leave out, and staring at all the other things that I need to do but don't know how I'm going to find the time when I'm so tired, and my body hurts if I do a lot. Right now I have put all of the laundry in bags since getting it all done is not going to happen without a drier when other people need to wash clothes too. The bags are sitting in a corner and can easily be moved around when we rearrange the room.

I do actually need to wash baby clothes and go through and get the stuff I like out and the stuff I don't like put away, or donated to goodwill or something. I also need to organize it by size so that I'm not searching for things that fit when RR is here. I have no idea how I'm going to organize it but I've got to figure it out sometime soon. I'm really starting to feel like time is running out. I feel like I'll make it tell after my next appointment but starting to feel like she wont wait tell her due date. But I could easily be wrong and go past my due date, even into June. I really don't want a June baby, but I'm not going to ask for an induction for May 31st either.

On a non "I still have a ton of cleaning to do" front, my breasts have been sore lately and I've had some diarrhea (tmi sorry). I remember being told that diarrhea is a sign that labor is coming but I'm trying to right it off as having to do with the fact that I've had more soda then I normally do the past week. I don't feel a lot of pressure though I do have pain in my upper thighs, and butt when I walk. I'm not horribly miserable or anything of the sort just uncomfortable really.

Any way, I need to get back to cleaning.

~Cathrin

Thursday, April 25, 2013

Head down and dilated.

So my ultrasound was on Tuesday; it went really well. RR is happily head down, the top part of her head is actually in my pelvis. She is weighing in at about 6 pounds and 5 ounces. This puts her in the 75th percentile. Her femur length puts her as being longer then average according to the tech but she didn't tell me how much.  After the ultrasound we had my birthday dinner at On the Border which was really nice. We even splurged for dessert. We also learned that there will be an On the Border opening in Towson which is half the distance to the one we currently "go" too. That will let us go more often which will be really nice, but it will be a while yet.

Yesterday I had my OB appointment. My cervix is 50% effaced, and 2cm dilated. That was a LOT more progress then I was expecting but I'm not too worried about her coming early. My mother was dilated to 3cm for three weeks with my elder brother, though she did also tell me that her mom had all of her kids ten or eleven days early. My grandmother had six pregnancies, seven kids, her biggest babies were her twins, both weighing in at over 7 pounds. Also big babies run in my family my aunts had kids at 9lb 4oz, and 8lb 12oz. My siblings and I were all only seven pounds something but she smoked while she was pregnant with us, which decreases birth weight. So I'm expecting a big(ish) baby, and my doctor said she thinks I might go a little early, but defiantly not anytime in the next couple of weeks.

Today my plan is laundry, as much of it as I can possibly get done with out a drier. I did however go to the bathroom this morning to find that my towel is missing... I was a little annoyed at first because I had JUST washed it two days ago. Then I was just like, no big deal I'll just grab a towel from the washing machine and then hang it back on the hook to dry or maybe on a hook in my room to dry. Well it turns out that they are already hanging outside to dry. That kind of pissed me off. Everyone knows that I have bad allergies, and that my stuff has to be hung to dry inside because of them. This is why I've taken to washing my own towel so that I'm not drying off after a shower with a towel that is covered in stuff I'm allergic too; I already did that once and I never want to be that itchy again; ever. So that towel is going right back into the washing machine to be washed again. And I guess I'm not going to be hanging my towel up in the bathroom anymore. That way no one gets over zealous and washes it again.

Right now I'm trying to get all my blankets and sheets washed. The annoying part is I can only do a max of two sheets at a time since they have to be hung in the bathroom. I assume that I can only wash two blankets at a time as well. But I need to get everything washed before RR gets here, and I need to get all our winter clothes put into bags and into the closet so that it's not taking up space in our tiny room. We also still need to rearrange our room so we can get the pack-in-play in here that RR will be using tell we get our own place. Other then that I need to get the hospital bag packed, and finish prepping my diapers. The last of our stash came in yesterday so hopefully in the next couple of days I can get that out of the way. That way at least all of RR's things will be packed.

The next appointment is in two weeks. Then every week after that. Today we're going to put hubby's paycheck in the bank, and I think the plan is to also get my last blood work done (to check for anemia), and then some food shopping; possibly some hospital bag shopping.

I think that's about it.

~Cathrin

Monday, April 22, 2013

A memory of high school English.

I was going to clean, but then something caught my eye and I had to read it and it made me think about something.

I was reading an article on Still Standing. It's an online magazine that talks about loss and infertility. It was started by women who are on my Facebook so I see links to the new articles a lot, and I click on ones that peak my interest, which is a lot of them so I do my best not to click because it just end with me clicking one link after another tell half (or more) of the day is gone.

Anyway the article that got me thinking is this one: What I Mean When I Say My Daughter Was Stillborn The title caught my interest because I had just talked to someone last Tuesday and I had brought up my daughter Serenity, I've been thinking about Serenity a lot since her birthday is coming up; just over a month away. She would be three. I was talking to a first time mother and I was glad that she didn't try to tell me that everything would be alright with RR, and that she didn't pull away from me the moment that I mentioned her. I know that it's scary for people to hear about babies being stillborn, even scarier for a pregnant woman to hear about it. But I do think that it is something that women need to hear, because I feel that it would have been easier for me to learn to live with happened if I had known that it was a possibility before it happened.

BUT that's not really what this post is about the part of the article that got me thinking was where she says "Your baby dies, and then you give birth... to your dead child" This brought back a very vivid memory of my senior year of high school, my English four class to be exact. A girl named Stephanie, asked a question, I have no idea where it came from, but she asked and since no one else answered not even the teacher; I answered.

Her question was simple really, though it probably would have been better suited for a health or sex ed class. She wanted to know what happens when a baby dies before he/she is born. It's a question that people don't normally think about let alone ask. Who would really want to think about a baby dieing? I know that I don't want to think about it, but I do, every day. Stillbirth isn't even mentioned in school sex-ed classes, neither is miscarriage but at least people know that miscarriages happen. So here Stephanie was asking this question, that apparently no one knew the answer to, except me, because I had lived her question, I had lived the answer. And so I answered, I told her the truth, that the mother still has to deliver the baby, and I told her how I knew the answer too.

I'm not sure how much later but later that semester my molly bears arrived, one for each of my little ones. Three bears that had no added weight, and one that weighed three pounds just like Serenity. I could barely put Serenity's bear down for while after I got her and I brought her to school with me. I would only put her in my book bag when I absolutely needed my hands free, other then that I held her. In my English class I was asked why I had a bear (or two) with me and I explained just how important the bear was. I would even let them hold her so they could feel her weight. Three pounds is not a lot, but it's not something you expect a teddy bear to feel. The good thing was that people understood why I had her with me, she was, and is, all i have of my daughter.

I could write about this all day but I really do need to do house stuff; so I'll leave it at that.

~Cathrin

Busy week.

Look I did better this time, it's been less then a month since my last post. Be proud of me. :)

First off my hubby has a job. It's not permanent  but it's full time and above minimum wage which is a good thing. His first paycheck is on Thursday. Right now my hubby is sleeping; he sleeps to about three or four now days as he works nights. The good thing about night shift is that he gets an extra dollar an hour for working a crappy shift, the bad thing about it is that I've already been awake for almost two hours and he's still got three or four hours before I wake him up. And I don't really have the luxury of just switching to his schedule like I did the last time he was on night shift. I have doctors appointments to go to, laundry to try and stay on top of, dishes to keep clean, and meals to make. I promised my hubby that once he had a job I would stop complaining about him not doing house work; and I have kept that promise.

On a different note, Saturday was my 20th birthday. My hubby turned 25 not long before then. I also hit 35 weeks on Saturday and I'm starting to really get that "nesting" feeling. Which basically means I'm doing a lot of house stuff that my mother would probably have loved to see me do with out asking my whole entire life. I've never had an issue with stuff being all over the floor, but now with RR I know that while I may actually like a messy room, desk, ect. it is not an acceptably environment for a child. Maybe I can teach my daughter to be a cleaner person than her father and I, though I am pretty sure that wont happen. I don't think I have enough resolve to ingrain "rooms must be kept clean" into her head or any kids we have down the road.

On the preparing for RR's arrival front; The room has yet to be rearranged like it has to be before RR gets here. My mother is bringing up the pack-in-play that she will be sleeping in till we buy a crib (assuming that we don't get one at my shower) and probably tell we get our own place because a crib will kill a lot more space than a pack-in-play. Our hospital bag is not packed, and hasn't even been started actually. I need somethings from the store and that has to wait tell hubby's paycheck, and I want to try and put the things that will be needed first at the top and later at the bottom. Currently I only have things I need for labor which need to be on top so my hubby isn't digging through the entire bag and asking me where something is. One the bright side the last of my newborn diaper stash is arriving this week, and all I'll need to do it prep them and stick them in the diaper bag along with RR's going home outfit and maybe a couple other things for her to wear while at the hospital. If I'll be having a natural delivery or a c-section is still up in the air tell tomorrow at least and maybe after that.

Tomorrow is a big day, We have our last ultrasound at 2:30 and hopefully she'll be head down and I'll get the all clear to have a natural vaginal delivery. If not then I'll see if my doctor will try to flip her, hopefully my doctor will at least try and if she's still breech after that I guess we'll plan a c-section. After our ultrasound (which hopefully brings good news) we'll head down to On the Border for dinner. That is my birthday present, as it's my favorite place to eat and I never get to go because of how far away it is. And since my hubby is off today and tomorrow I won't have to worry about getting home in time for him to go to work. Which will give us some time to just spend time together, alone, and just enjoy each other's company for once.

Wednesday is my OB appointment. I need to get the beeper number for when I go into labor, since I didn't get it at my last appointment. Hubby wont be coming with me (or at least I'm pretty sure he wont) as he has to work Wednesday and my appointment is before he normally wakes up. I'm a little nervous about going because he's been with me to every appointment before now, but him getting enough rest to work is more important then how I feel about going by myself.

I do still need to schedule appointments with pediatricians so I can pick the one I want RR to go too, I'd ideally like to schedule then when my hubby had off so we can make the decision together but I don't know what days he has off next week or any week besides this one. I've mentally prepared myself to having to meet with these people by myself but thinking about it does make my chest tighten a little. Realistically I'm not 100% sure that RR will be able to get on an insurance plan that these doctors take so I kind of feel like I might just be wasting my time a little. But I don't know what else to do other then hope I can get her on insurance that the doctor I like accepts. I did ask my hubby how he feels about our kid seeing doctors who maybe older then his grandma (she's only in her early 60's though so she's not old, I have aunts and uncles her age) and he doesn't seem to be bothered by it, which is good.

I think that's about it, and even if it's not I need to get back to cleaning, and laundry, and other things of that nature.

~Cathrin

Friday, April 5, 2013

Time got away from me; again.

I was meaning to get on here more, but I've just found myself busy with other things. I've been looking at pediatricians, heading to child birth and child care classes, driving people to and from the store, their doctors appointments and family/friends house. Basically I've put a crazy about of miles on my car this month considering my tight budget and spent much more then I wanted to putting gas in my car because of this. The past two weeks (or three maybe) I've spent a lot of time reading. Mostly because I've been too uncomfortable to sit at my computer for more then ten maybe twenty minutes at a time, and I can just lay in bed while reading. I was actually in tears the other day because I was so uncomfortable sitting up straight while trying to eat dinner.

The books that I read the past few weeks are: Grave Mercy by Robin LaFevers; A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness; and Shadow of Night by Deborah Harkness. A Discovery of Witches and Shadow of Night are part of a Trilogy but the third book is not out yet, and I don't know when it will be coming out. Grave Mercy is also part of a series but I'm not sure how many books there will be all together, the second book in this series JUST came out (4/2/13) it is called Dark Triumph, so it's still in hardback and is eighteen bucks so not exactly in my budget for ONE book regardless of how badly I want to read it. I actually saw it in Barns in Noble before it was supposed to be released, I thought about saying something to someone about in the end I was too busy trying to figure out how I was going to get up off the floor after looking at books on the bottom shelf and forgot about it.

All three of those books are almost six hundred pages long. So they were roughly the same size. Grave Mercy took me about a day to read, which is the amount of time that it normally takes me to read a book that size if all I do is sit and read; though it did take a little longer because I had to keep changing positions even while happily laying in bed. A Discovery of Witches and Shadow of Night was another story. Those books took me five or six days. Each. The only real way to describe these two books is dense. These books were 579 and 577 pages long, Grave Mercy was 566, the real difference was the was the fact that Grave Mercy had nice big (ish) print, wide spacing and wide margins. The other two books, Not so much. The words were at least half the size as those of Grave Mercy and to say that the spacing in the other two was single spacing feels like I'm telling you there was more space in between the lines of text then there was. The margins were tiny (and I've read a lot of books people I know what I mean when I say that the margins were tiny) and I didn't even get a break at the beginning of the chapters, there was a grand total of three lines less on those pages then on a normal page; I counted the difference. All of that equated to reading about 100 pages a day, when all I was doing was reading. That said the books were defiantly worth it, so long as you like reading about witches, vampires, ect. Also the second book takes place in the past, so if you don't like historical fiction then don't read the first book because you'll never make it though the second. I actually preferred the second book, but then the second book combined my two favorite things, fantasy and historical fiction.

Anyway back to stuff this blog is actually about.

Our birthing class on the 9th went really well, so long as you ignore the fact that I had to keep poking my husband so that he wouldn't fall asleep. But that is what happens when you take a person who doesn't wake up tell one to at nine AM class. He did learn some things though and he's good at following directions so if he forgets stuff then I or a nurse can remind him. Our child care classes were a little less hands on then I wanted them to be, I was expecting to be handed a plastic baby doll and actually get to practice stuff. What actually happened was a demonstration, We did get to practice how to care for a chocking infant, though not CPR which was fine with me really since I've learned infant CPR before; and just wanted the refresher. My Hubby was really good at the chocking thing which or course makes me feel better and now that he has at least been over CPR for an infant I can not worry about things happening while I'm away. Not so much if his mother watches her though, since she refused to take the grandparent classes, RR will probably be pretty old before my Mother-in-law gets to watch her, because "I raised three kids" isn't a good enough reason to not go to the safety class for me.

My doctors appointment at the end of March went well, nothing really to report there, just a normal checkup and such. I got the paperwork to schedule my ultrasound at thirty-six weeks to see if RR had turned head down or not. So far it doesn't feel like she has though she moves a lot and turns in different directions so it seems like she still has enough room to turn. If at the ultrasound she is still breach I'm going to see about having her manually flipped, I want to have every chance at vaginal delivery, and I don't want to be wondering if I could have avoided a c-section at some later point in life.

I think that's about it, I have breastfeeding classes this month, and doctors appointments, and I need to call peds and schedule appointments with them so I can pick one. Other then that, there isn't a whole lot going on.

~Cathrin