Friday night I was talking to my very close friend who is like a sister to me and I was talking to her about taking a pregnancy test and what symptoms I'd been having. She wanted me to test on Saturday morning and I said that I might or might not. I was spending way to much time on baby center which made me want to test of course. But I wasn't sure I was going to, I still wasn't expecting AF for a few more days and I sure as hell didn't feel pregnant.
On Saturday morning I woke and went to the bathroom I went ahead and peed into the little plastic desposible cup that I use for well OPK's and HPT's. I use the cup thing because I will miss if I just try to pee on the stick and that's no fun. Anyway I put the cup aside and was just looking at the test still in it wrapper I wasn't sure if I was actually going to use the thing. After all I was pretty sure that it was going to tell me that I wasn't pregnant and I really didn't want to "hear" that. Finally I decided that I would use the FRER because my sissy wanted me to test. After all if I didn't get a positive with it I would just wait tell AF was late and then test again, and if it wasn't then I would just keep that test tell we got the go ahead to TTC again. So I opened the wrapper and dipped the test.
I was watching the test and I couldn't see any wetness in the little window yet I looked away for a couple of seconds at most and then looked back. The wetness hadn't reached the control line yet and there it was staring at me the pink line that means "Hey you! You're pregnant!". My immediate reaction was "Oh my god, oh my god, oh my god" times about twenty. I had put the box with my last pregnancy test back under the sink hidden behind stuff before I had used the FRER. First thing I did was snap a picture of the test, less then a minute after I had dipped the thing in the pee. then I went back under the sink and pulled out the last test and tried to open the wrapper.
Let me tell you something, that wrapper on the Answer pregnancy test is HARD to open. I'm sure that the fact that I was in shock and that my hands were shaking horribly had something to do with how hard it was to open but still I fought with this thing, for at least a minute. I ended up looking around the bathroom for anything sharp enough to help me get this thing open. You know what I found to help? Tweezers. Yep that was as good as it got. So I grabbed these tweezers and tried to stab the wrapper and get a hole in it. You know how well that worked? It didn't. So then I just used them like well, tweezers, and finally by some miracle the test opened! I pulled the test out and dipped it in my cup and then set it down. I think I put the tweezers back but I don't really remember doing it. The Answer pregnancy test was positive just as fast as the FRER. I was in shock and I took another picture with them both in it.
Right now the tests are sitting tight beside me. I had to look at them every two minutes on Saturday for me to believe it. It really hasn't sunk in yet honestly, I'm a little bit in shock that they are positive. I've told a few people abut the baby, and after we tell the family on Friday I'll officially announce it on FB.
I want to tell everyone so soon because I've lost before and I want people to share in my happiness at this moment, and if goddess forbid anything does go wrong then I will have people's support with out having to say "well I was pregnant but I just found out I'm having a miscarriage." And there isn't a "safe" part of pregnancy anyway so why wait to tell people.
Today I am exactly five weeks pregnant. My first appointment is of next Wednesday at one. I asked for something sooner but the receptionist assured me that there was no appointments before that. I'm nervous for waiting that "long" but hopefully I'll get to see a heartbeat when I go in for the appointment as I will be six weeks then.
![]() |
| FRER less than a minute after testing. |
![]() |
| Top is Answer test two minutes after testing. FRER is five minutes on the bottom. |
![]() |
| Just a nicer picture of the FRER after the test had dried. |
![]() |
| Top is Answer, bottom is FRER. |
![]() |
| Answer test after it dried. |
![]() |
| Just decided to make one of the tests prettier, I believe this is the FRER |
Hope you liked my photos :)
~Cathrin






No comments:
Post a Comment